Skip to content
Brand head-to-head

LightSim vs Sim Local

LightSim and Sim Local travel eSIMs compared on price, value per GB, unlimited data, destination coverage and verified prices, built from 2,195 plans we track. Each figure is cited to its source and dated.

$2.90LightSim from
$2.75Sim Local from

Price observation dates for these two providers: Nov 2, 2026. Check each plan's date and source before buying.How we verify

LightSim and Sim Local are closely matched: both start between $2.75 and $2.90, with a best price per GB of $0.67/GB and $0.61/GB. LightSim covers more of the destinations we track (193 vs 176). Pick on which destinations you need and the exact data allowance and validity that fit your trip.

LightSim

From $2.90 · 1,252 plans in 193 destinations

10% off a first LightSim purchase with code ESIMCOMPARE10. How to use it

Sim Local

From $2.75 · 943 plans in 176 destinations

10% off every plan with code ESIMCOMPARE. How to use it

We earn a commission if you buy through Sim Local links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.

LightSim vs Sim Local: starting price, best value per GB, unlimited data, destinations tracked, verified prices and cheapest trip-ready plan.
MetricLightSim1,252 plans trackedSim Local943 plans tracked
Starts from$2.90$2.75
Best value per GB$0.67/GB$0.61/GB
Unlimited-data plans319 plans (25%)153 plans (16%)
Destinations tracked193176
Prices verified100% of 1,252100% of 943
Cheapest trip-ready plan$6.90$6.50

Every figure is aggregated from the plans we track for each brand and links to the record that proves it. How we verify prices.

LightSim vs Sim Local for popular destinations

The best-value LightSim and Sim Local plan for each destination both cover, lined up on price, data, validity and per-GB price.

LightSim is cheaper for United States. LightSim's 5 GB plan costs $10.50 for 30 days, versus $14.25 for Sim Local's 5 GB ($2.10/GB vs $2.85/GB). Cheapest is not always best: check the data allowance and validity match your trip.

Side-by-side comparison of LightSim · 5 GB vs Sim Local · 5 GB: price, data allowance, validity, per-GB price, provider, coverage and verification.
Plan
Price
total
total
Data type
Speed / fair-use policyFixed data allowanceFixed data allowance
Data
Validity30 days30 days
DestinationUnited StatesUnited States
ProviderLightSimSim Local
CoverageCarrier not stated by the providerAT&T, Verizon
Last checkedNov 2, 2026 · 1 sourceNov 2, 2026 · 1 source
Buy

We earn a commission if you buy through LightSim and Sim Local links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.

Closely matched on price. LightSim (5 GB, 30 days) and Sim Local (5 GB, 30 days) are priced within a dollar for Japan, at $10.50 and $11.00 ($2.10/GB vs $2.20/GB). They use different local networks (KDDI/au, NTT docomo, Rakuten Mobile, SoftBank vs SoftBank, KDDI au), which can change coverage in parts of Japan. Pick on data allowance, validity and which provider you prefer.

Side-by-side comparison of LightSim · 5 GB vs Sim Local · 5 GB: price, data allowance, validity, per-GB price, provider, coverage and verification.
Plan
Price
total
total
Data type
Speed / fair-use policyFixed data allowanceFixed data allowance
Data
Validity30 days30 days
DestinationJapanJapan
ProviderLightSimSim Local
CoverageKDDI/au, NTT docomo, Rakuten Mobile, SoftBankSoftBank, KDDI au
Last checkedNov 2, 2026 · 1 sourceNov 2, 2026 · 1 source
Buy

We earn a commission if you buy through LightSim and Sim Local links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.

Closely matched on price. LightSim (5 GB, 30 days) and Sim Local (5 GB, 30 days) are priced within a dollar for Australia, at $10.50 and $11.00 ($2.10/GB vs $2.20/GB). They use different local networks (Optus vs Optus, Telstra), which can change coverage in parts of Australia. Pick on data allowance, validity and which provider you prefer.

Side-by-side comparison of LightSim · 5 GB vs Sim Local · 5 GB: price, data allowance, validity, per-GB price, provider, coverage and verification.
Plan
Price
total
total
Data type
Speed / fair-use policyFixed data allowanceFixed data allowance
Data
Validity30 days30 days
DestinationAustraliaAustralia
ProviderLightSimSim Local
CoverageOptusOptus, Telstra
Last checkedNov 2, 2026 · 1 sourceNov 2, 2026 · 1 source
Buy

We earn a commission if you buy through LightSim and Sim Local links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.

Closely matched on price. LightSim (5 GB, 30 days) and Sim Local (5 GB, 30 days) are priced within a dollar for Thailand, at $7.50 and $8.00 ($1.50/GB vs $1.60/GB). Pick on data allowance, validity and which provider you prefer.

Side-by-side comparison of LightSim · 5 GB vs Sim Local · 5 GB: price, data allowance, validity, per-GB price, provider, coverage and verification.
Plan
Price
total
total
Data type
Speed / fair-use policyFixed data allowanceFixed data allowance
Data
Validity30 days30 days
DestinationThailandThailand
ProviderLightSimSim Local
CoverageCarrier not stated by the providerAIS
Last checkedNov 2, 2026 · 1 sourceNov 2, 2026 · 1 source
Buy

We earn a commission if you buy through LightSim and Sim Local links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.

More brand comparisons

Frequently asked

Is LightSim or Sim Local better for travel?
They are closely matched on price (from $2.90 and $2.75). Pick on coverage of your destination and the data and validity that fit your trip.
How much does LightSim cost compared to Sim Local?
LightSim plans start from $2.90 (best value $0.67/GB), and Sim Local plans start from $2.75 (best value $0.61/GB). Exact prices depend on the destination, the data amount and the validity. Each price is cited to its source and dated.
Which covers more destinations, LightSim or Sim Local?
We track LightSim across 193 destinations and Sim Local across 176. LightSim covers more of the destinations in our catalogue, though both cover the major travel destinations.
Which has unlimited data, LightSim or Sim Local?
Both offer unlimited-data plans: LightSim has 319 (25% of the plans we track) and Sim Local has 153 (16%). "Unlimited" plans usually keep full speed up to a daily cap, so check the fair-use cap on the plan you buy.

Each price is cited to its source and dated. How we verify