eSIM For U vs LightSim
eSIM For U and LightSim travel eSIMs compared on price, value per GB, unlimited data, destination coverage and verified prices, built from 3,406 plans we track. Each figure is cited to its source and dated.
Price observation dates for these two providers: Oct 28, 2026 to Nov 2, 2026. Check each plan's date and source before buying.How we verify
eSIM For U's best price per GB in our catalogue is $0.28/GB, versus $0.67/GB for LightSim. LightSim also starts cheaper, from $2.90 versus $3.69. LightSim covers more of the destinations we track (193 vs 188). Best value is not always the right pick: match the data allowance and validity to your trip.
From $3.69 · 2,154 plans in 188 destinations
10% off a new customer's first eSIM with code ESIMCOMPARE10. How to use it
From $2.90 · 1,252 plans in 193 destinations
10% off a first LightSim purchase with code ESIMCOMPARE10. How to use it
We earn a commission if you buy through eSIM For U links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
| Metric | ||
|---|---|---|
| Starts from | $3.69 | $2.90 |
| Best value per GB | $0.28/GB | $0.67/GB |
| Unlimited-data plans | 1,068 plans (50%) | 319 plans (25%) |
| Destinations tracked | 188 | 193 |
| Prices verified | 100% of 2,154 | 100% of 1,252 |
| Cheapest trip-ready plan | $6.19 | $6.90 |
Every figure is aggregated from the plans we track for each brand and links to the record that proves it. How we verify prices.
eSIM For U vs LightSim for popular destinations
The best-value eSIM For U and LightSim plan for each destination both cover, lined up on price, data, validity and per-GB price.
eSIM For U is cheaper for United States. eSIM For U's 5 GB plan costs $9.39 for 30 days, versus $10.50 for LightSim's 5 GB ($1.88/GB vs $2.10/GB). Cheapest is not always best: check the data allowance and validity match your trip.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 30 days | 30 days |
| Destination | United States | United States |
| Provider | eSIM For U | LightSim |
| Coverage | AT&T, Verizon | Carrier not stated by the provider |
| Last checked | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through eSIM For U and LightSim links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
eSIM For U is cheaper for Japan. eSIM For U's 5 GB plan costs $9.39 for 30 days, versus $10.50 for LightSim's 5 GB ($1.88/GB vs $2.10/GB). They use different local networks (KDDI/au, SoftBank vs KDDI/au, NTT docomo, Rakuten Mobile, SoftBank), which can change coverage in parts of Japan. Cheapest is not always best: check the data allowance and validity match your trip.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 30 days | 30 days |
| Destination | Japan | Japan |
| Provider | eSIM For U | LightSim |
| Coverage | KDDI/au, SoftBank | KDDI/au, NTT docomo, Rakuten Mobile, SoftBank |
| Last checked | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through eSIM For U and LightSim links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
eSIM For U is cheaper for Australia. eSIM For U's 5 GB plan costs $9.39 for 30 days, versus $10.50 for LightSim's 5 GB ($1.88/GB vs $2.10/GB). Both list the same local network (Optus); this alone does not establish identical coverage or speeds. Cheapest is not always best: check the data allowance and validity match your trip.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 30 days | 30 days |
| Destination | Australia | Australia |
| Provider | eSIM For U | LightSim |
| Coverage | Optus | Optus |
| Last checked | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through eSIM For U and LightSim links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
Closely matched on price. eSIM For U (5 GB, 30 days) and LightSim (5 GB, 30 days) are priced within a dollar for Thailand, at $7.09 and $7.50 ($1.42/GB vs $1.50/GB). Pick on data allowance, validity and which provider you prefer.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 30 days | 30 days |
| Destination | Thailand | Thailand |
| Provider | eSIM For U | LightSim |
| Coverage | AIS, DTAC, TrueMove H | Carrier not stated by the provider |
| Last checked | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through eSIM For U and LightSim links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
More brand comparisons
Frequently asked
- Is eSIM For U or LightSim better for travel?
- eSIM For U tends to be better value per GB ($0.28/GB vs $0.67/GB at best), and LightSim starts cheaper (from $2.90). Confirm the data and validity fit your trip before buying.
- How much does eSIM For U cost compared to LightSim?
- eSIM For U plans start from $3.69 (best value $0.28/GB), and LightSim plans start from $2.90 (best value $0.67/GB). Exact prices depend on the destination, the data amount and the validity. Each price is cited to its source and dated.
- Which covers more destinations, eSIM For U or LightSim?
- We track eSIM For U across 188 destinations and LightSim across 193. LightSim covers more of the destinations in our catalogue, though both cover the major travel destinations.
- Which has unlimited data, eSIM For U or LightSim?
- Both offer unlimited-data plans: eSIM For U has 1068 (50% of the plans we track) and LightSim has 319 (25%). "Unlimited" plans usually keep full speed up to a daily cap, so check the fair-use cap on the plan you buy.
Each price is cited to its source and dated. How we verify