Airalo vs LightSim
Airalo and LightSim travel eSIMs compared on price, value per GB, unlimited data, destination coverage and verified prices, built from 3,897 plans we track. Each figure is cited to its source and dated.
Price observation dates for these two providers: Oct 31, 2026 to Nov 2, 2026. Check each plan's date and source before buying.How we verify
Airalo's best price per GB in our catalogue is $0.55/GB, versus $0.67/GB for LightSim. LightSim also starts cheaper, from $2.90 versus $4.00. LightSim covers more of the destinations we track (193 vs 183). Best value is not always the right pick: match the data allowance and validity to your trip.
From $4.00 · 2,645 plans in 183 destinations
15% off (at most $3) a first Airalo eSIM with code MYFIRSTAIRALO for customers in the US and Canada, or NEWTOAIRALO15 for everyone else. How to use it
From $2.90 · 1,252 plans in 193 destinations
10% off a first LightSim purchase with code ESIMCOMPARE10. How to use it
We earn a commission if you buy through Airalo links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
| Metric | ||
|---|---|---|
| Starts from | $4.00 | $2.90 |
| Best value per GB | $0.55/GB | $0.67/GB |
| Unlimited-data plans | 785 plans (30%) | 319 plans (25%) |
| Destinations tracked | 183 | 193 |
| Prices verified | 100% of 2,645 | 100% of 1,252 |
| Cheapest trip-ready plan | $6.50 | $6.90 |
Every figure is aggregated from the plans we track for each brand and links to the record that proves it. How we verify prices.
Airalo vs LightSim for popular destinations
The best-value Airalo and LightSim plan for each destination both cover, lined up on price, data, validity and per-GB price.
LightSim is cheaper for United States. LightSim's 5 GB plan costs $10.50 for 30 days, versus $13.00 for Airalo's 5 GB ($2.10/GB vs $2.60/GB). LightSim is also valid longer (30 vs 15 days), so it is not a clean win. Cheapest is not always best: check the data allowance and validity match your trip.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 15 days | 30 days |
| Destination | United States | United States |
| Provider | Airalo | LightSim |
| Coverage | T-Mobile, Verizon | Carrier not stated by the provider |
| Last checked | Nov 1, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through Airalo and LightSim links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
Closely matched on price. Airalo (5 GB, 15 days) and LightSim (5 GB, 30 days) are priced within a dollar for Japan, at $10.50 and $10.50 ($2.10/GB vs $2.10/GB). LightSim is valid longer (30 vs 15 days). They use different local networks (Softbank, KDDI, Rakuten vs KDDI/au, NTT docomo, Rakuten Mobile, SoftBank), which can change coverage in parts of Japan. Pick on data allowance, validity and which provider you prefer.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 15 days | 30 days |
| Destination | Japan | Japan |
| Provider | Airalo | LightSim |
| Coverage | Softbank, KDDI, Rakuten | KDDI/au, NTT docomo, Rakuten Mobile, SoftBank |
| Last checked | Oct 31, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through Airalo and LightSim links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
Closely matched on price. Airalo (5 GB, 15 days) and LightSim (5 GB, 30 days) are priced within a dollar for Australia, at $10.50 and $10.50 ($2.10/GB vs $2.10/GB). LightSim is valid longer (30 vs 15 days). Both list the same local network (Optus); this alone does not establish identical coverage or speeds. Pick on data allowance, validity and which provider you prefer.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 15 days | 30 days |
| Destination | Australia | Australia |
| Provider | Airalo | LightSim |
| Coverage | Optus | Optus |
| Last checked | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through Airalo and LightSim links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
Closely matched on price. Airalo (5 GB, 15 days) and LightSim (5 GB, 30 days) are priced within a dollar for Thailand, at $7.50 and $7.50 ($1.50/GB vs $1.50/GB). LightSim is valid longer (30 vs 15 days). Pick on data allowance, validity and which provider you prefer.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 15 days | 30 days |
| Destination | Thailand | Thailand |
| Provider | Airalo | LightSim |
| Coverage | dtac | Carrier not stated by the provider |
| Last checked | Nov 1, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through Airalo and LightSim links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
More brand comparisons
Frequently asked
- Is Airalo or LightSim better for travel?
- Airalo tends to be better value per GB ($0.55/GB vs $0.67/GB at best), and LightSim starts cheaper (from $2.90). Confirm the data and validity fit your trip before buying.
- How much does Airalo cost compared to LightSim?
- Airalo plans start from $4.00 (best value $0.55/GB), and LightSim plans start from $2.90 (best value $0.67/GB). Exact prices depend on the destination, the data amount and the validity. Each price is cited to its source and dated.
- Which covers more destinations, Airalo or LightSim?
- We track Airalo across 183 destinations and LightSim across 193. LightSim covers more of the destinations in our catalogue, though both cover the major travel destinations.
- Which has unlimited data, Airalo or LightSim?
- Both offer unlimited-data plans: Airalo has 785 (30% of the plans we track) and LightSim has 319 (25%). "Unlimited" plans usually keep full speed up to a daily cap, so check the fair-use cap on the plan you buy.
Each price is cited to its source and dated. How we verify