eSIMX vs LightSim
eSIMX and LightSim travel eSIMs compared on price, value per GB, unlimited data, destination coverage and verified prices, built from 3,216 plans we track. Each figure is cited to its source and dated.
Price observation dates for these two providers: Oct 28, 2026 to Nov 2, 2026. Check each plan's date and source before buying.How we verify
eSIMX's best price per GB in our catalogue is $0.40/GB, versus $0.67/GB for LightSim. eSIMX also starts cheaper, from $2.80 versus $2.90. LightSim covers more of the destinations we track (193 vs 181). Best value is not always the right pick: match the data allowance and validity to your trip.
From $2.90 · 1,252 plans in 193 destinations
10% off a first LightSim purchase with code ESIMCOMPARE10. How to use it
We earn a commission if you buy through eSIMX links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
| Metric | ||
|---|---|---|
| Starts from | $2.80 | $2.90 |
| Best value per GB | $0.40/GB | $0.67/GB |
| Unlimited-data plans | 669 plans (34%) | 319 plans (25%) |
| Destinations tracked | 181 | 193 |
| Prices verified | 100% of 1,964 | 100% of 1,252 |
| Cheapest trip-ready plan | $4.00 | $6.90 |
Every figure is aggregated from the plans we track for each brand and links to the record that proves it. How we verify prices.
eSIMX vs LightSim for popular destinations
The best-value eSIMX and LightSim plan for each destination both cover, lined up on price, data, validity and per-GB price.
eSIMX is cheaper for United States. eSIMX's 5 GB plan costs $6.00 for 30 days, versus $10.50 for LightSim's 5 GB ($1.20/GB vs $2.10/GB). Cheapest is not always best: check the data allowance and validity match your trip.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 30 days | 30 days |
| Destination | United States | United States |
| Provider | eSIMX | LightSim |
| Coverage | Verizon, AT&T | Carrier not stated by the provider |
| Last checked | Oct 28, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through eSIMX and LightSim links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
eSIMX is cheaper for Japan. eSIMX's 5 GB plan costs $5.80 for 30 days, versus $10.50 for LightSim's 5 GB ($1.16/GB vs $2.10/GB). They use different local networks (Softbank vs KDDI/au, NTT docomo, Rakuten Mobile, SoftBank), which can change coverage in parts of Japan. Cheapest is not always best: check the data allowance and validity match your trip.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 30 days | 30 days |
| Destination | Japan | Japan |
| Provider | eSIMX | LightSim |
| Coverage | Softbank | KDDI/au, NTT docomo, Rakuten Mobile, SoftBank |
| Last checked | Oct 28, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through eSIMX and LightSim links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
eSIMX is cheaper for Australia. eSIMX's 5 GB plan costs $4.50 for 30 days, versus $10.50 for LightSim's 5 GB ($0.90/GB vs $2.10/GB). Both list the same local network (Optus); this alone does not establish identical coverage or speeds. Cheapest is not always best: check the data allowance and validity match your trip.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 30 days | 30 days |
| Destination | Australia | Australia |
| Provider | eSIMX | LightSim |
| Coverage | Optus | Optus |
| Last checked | Oct 28, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through eSIMX and LightSim links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
eSIMX is cheaper for Thailand. eSIMX's 5 GB plan costs $4.80 for 30 days, versus $7.50 for LightSim's 5 GB ($0.96/GB vs $1.50/GB). Cheapest is not always best: check the data allowance and validity match your trip.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 30 days | 30 days |
| Destination | Thailand | Thailand |
| Provider | eSIMX | LightSim |
| Coverage | AIS, True Move | Carrier not stated by the provider |
| Last checked | Oct 28, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through eSIMX and LightSim links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
More brand comparisons
Frequently asked
- Is eSIMX or LightSim better for travel?
- eSIMX tends to be better value per GB ($0.40/GB vs $0.67/GB at best), and eSIMX starts cheaper (from $2.80). Confirm the data and validity fit your trip before buying.
- How much does eSIMX cost compared to LightSim?
- eSIMX plans start from $2.80 (best value $0.40/GB), and LightSim plans start from $2.90 (best value $0.67/GB). Exact prices depend on the destination, the data amount and the validity. Each price is cited to its source and dated.
- Which covers more destinations, eSIMX or LightSim?
- We track eSIMX across 181 destinations and LightSim across 193. LightSim covers more of the destinations in our catalogue, though both cover the major travel destinations.
- Which has unlimited data, eSIMX or LightSim?
- Both offer unlimited-data plans: eSIMX has 669 (34% of the plans we track) and LightSim has 319 (25%). "Unlimited" plans usually keep full speed up to a daily cap, so check the fair-use cap on the plan you buy.
Each price is cited to its source and dated. How we verify