LightSim vs Nomad eSIM
LightSim and Nomad eSIM travel eSIMs compared on price, value per GB, unlimited data, destination coverage and verified prices, built from 2,457 plans we track. Each figure is cited to its source and dated.
Price observation dates for these two providers: Oct 30, 2026 to Nov 2, 2026. Check each plan's date and source before buying.How we verify
Nomad eSIM's best price per GB in our catalogue is $0.34/GB, versus $0.67/GB for LightSim. LightSim also starts cheaper, from $2.90 versus $4.00. LightSim covers more of the destinations we track (193 vs 191). Best value is not always the right pick: match the data allowance and validity to your trip.
From $2.90 · 1,252 plans in 193 destinations
10% off a first LightSim purchase with code ESIMCOMPARE10. How to use it
From $4.00 · 1,205 plans in 191 destinations
15% off one Nomad eSIM order per customer with code ESIMCOMPARE. How to use it
We earn a commission if you buy through Nomad eSIM links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
| Metric | ||
|---|---|---|
| Starts from | $2.90 | $4.00 |
| Best value per GB | $0.67/GB | $0.34/GB |
| Unlimited-data plans | 319 plans (25%) | 244 plans (20%) |
| Destinations tracked | 193 | 191 |
| Prices verified | 100% of 1,252 | 100% of 1,205 |
| Cheapest trip-ready plan | $6.90 | $8.00 |
Every figure is aggregated from the plans we track for each brand and links to the record that proves it. How we verify prices.
LightSim vs Nomad eSIM for popular destinations
The best-value LightSim and Nomad eSIM plan for each destination both cover, lined up on price, data, validity and per-GB price.
Nomad eSIM is cheaper for United States. Nomad eSIM's 5 GB plan costs $9.00 for 30 days, versus $10.50 for LightSim's 5 GB ($1.80/GB vs $2.10/GB). Cheapest is not always best: check the data allowance and validity match your trip.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 30 days | 30 days |
| Destination | United States | United States |
| Provider | LightSim | Nomad eSIM |
| Coverage | Carrier not stated by the provider | AT&T |
| Last checked | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 1, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through LightSim and Nomad eSIM links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
Closely matched on price. LightSim (5 GB, 30 days) and Nomad eSIM (5 GB, 30 days) are priced within a dollar for Japan, at $10.50 and $10.00 ($2.00/GB vs $2.10/GB). They use different local networks (KDDI/au, NTT docomo, Rakuten Mobile, SoftBank vs KDDI au), which can change coverage in parts of Japan. Pick on data allowance, validity and which provider you prefer.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 30 days | 30 days |
| Destination | Japan | Japan |
| Provider | LightSim | Nomad eSIM |
| Coverage | KDDI/au, NTT docomo, Rakuten Mobile, SoftBank | KDDI au |
| Last checked | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source | Oct 30, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through LightSim and Nomad eSIM links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
Closely matched on price. LightSim (5 GB, 30 days) and Nomad eSIM (5 GB, 30 days) are priced within a dollar for Australia, at $10.50 and $10.00 ($2.00/GB vs $2.10/GB). Both list the same local network (Optus); this alone does not establish identical coverage or speeds. Pick on data allowance, validity and which provider you prefer.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 30 days | 30 days |
| Destination | Australia | Australia |
| Provider | LightSim | Nomad eSIM |
| Coverage | Optus | Optus |
| Last checked | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 1, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through LightSim and Nomad eSIM links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
Closely matched on price. LightSim (5 GB, 30 days) and Nomad eSIM (5 GB, 30 days) are priced within a dollar for Thailand, at $7.50 and $8.00 ($1.50/GB vs $1.60/GB). Pick on data allowance, validity and which provider you prefer.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 30 days | 30 days |
| Destination | Thailand | Thailand |
| Provider | LightSim | Nomad eSIM |
| Coverage | Carrier not stated by the provider | dtac |
| Last checked | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 1, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through LightSim and Nomad eSIM links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
More brand comparisons
Frequently asked
- Is LightSim or Nomad eSIM better for travel?
- Nomad eSIM tends to be better value per GB ($0.34/GB vs $0.67/GB at best), and LightSim starts cheaper (from $2.90). Confirm the data and validity fit your trip before buying.
- How much does LightSim cost compared to Nomad eSIM?
- LightSim plans start from $2.90 (best value $0.67/GB), and Nomad eSIM plans start from $4.00 (best value $0.34/GB). Exact prices depend on the destination, the data amount and the validity. Each price is cited to its source and dated.
- Which covers more destinations, LightSim or Nomad eSIM?
- We track LightSim across 193 destinations and Nomad eSIM across 191. LightSim covers more of the destinations in our catalogue, though both cover the major travel destinations.
- Which has unlimited data, LightSim or Nomad eSIM?
- Both offer unlimited-data plans: LightSim has 319 (25% of the plans we track) and Nomad eSIM has 244 (20%). "Unlimited" plans usually keep full speed up to a daily cap, so check the fair-use cap on the plan you buy.
Each price is cited to its source and dated. How we verify