Skip to content
Brand head-to-head

LibrePass vs shibaSIM

LibrePass and shibaSIM travel eSIMs compared on price, value per GB, unlimited data, destination coverage and verified prices, built from 1,110 plans we track. Each figure is cited to its source and dated.

$4.34LibrePass from
$1.59shibaSIM from

Price observation dates for these two providers: Nov 2, 2026. Check each plan's date and source before buying.How we verify

shibaSIM offers unlimited-data plans (50 of the 179 we track) from $2.59, while every LibrePass plan we track is metered, from $4.34. We have recorded speed policies for 50 of 50 unlimited plans. Of those, 50 state a daily high-speed allowance of 0.5 to 3 GB/day. Check the exact plan for speed reductions and hotspot terms. Compare the plans for your destination and trip length; unlimited does not guarantee unrestricted streaming or tethering. LibrePass covers more of the destinations we track (184 vs 19).

LibrePass

From $4.34 · 931 plans in 184 destinations

shibaSIM

From $1.59 · 179 plans in 19 destinations

We earn a commission if you buy through LibrePass and shibaSIM links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.

LibrePass vs shibaSIM: starting price, best value per GB, unlimited data, destinations tracked, verified prices and cheapest trip-ready plan.
MetricLibrePass931 plans trackedshibaSIM179 plans tracked
Starts from$4.34$1.59
Best value per GB$0.69/GB$0.29/GB
Unlimited-data plansMetered only50 plans (28%)
Destinations tracked18419
Prices verified100% of 931100% of 179
Cheapest trip-ready plan$6.57$2.59

Every figure is aggregated from the plans we track for each brand and links to the record that proves it. How we verify prices.

LibrePass vs shibaSIM for popular destinations

The best-value LibrePass and shibaSIM plan for each destination both cover, lined up on price, data, validity and per-GB price.

shibaSIM is cheaper for United States. shibaSIM's 5 GB plan costs $4.09 for 10 days, versus $13.25 for LibrePass's 5 GB ($0.82/GB vs $2.65/GB). LibrePass is valid longer (30 vs 10 days), so it is not a clean win. Cheapest is not always best: check the data allowance and validity match your trip.

We earn a commission if you buy through LibrePass and shibaSIM links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.

shibaSIM is cheaper for Japan. shibaSIM's 5 GB plan costs $4.09 for 30 days, versus $11.02 for LibrePass's 5 GB ($0.82/GB vs $2.20/GB). They use different local networks (KDDI/au, NTT docomo, Rakuten Mobile, SoftBank vs KDDI, SoftBank), which can change coverage in parts of Japan. Cheapest is not always best: check the data allowance and validity match your trip.

Side-by-side comparison of LibrePass · 5 GB vs shibaSIM · 5 GB: price, data allowance, validity, per-GB price, provider, coverage and verification.
Plan
Price
total
total
Data type
Speed / fair-use policyFixed data allowanceFixed data allowance
Data
Validity30 days30 days
DestinationJapanJapan
ProviderLibrePassshibaSIM
CoverageKDDI/au, NTT docomo, Rakuten Mobile, SoftBankKDDI, SoftBank
Last checkedNov 2, 2026 · 1 sourceNov 2, 2026 · 1 source
Buy

We earn a commission if you buy through LibrePass and shibaSIM links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.

shibaSIM is cheaper for Australia. shibaSIM's 5 GB plan costs $3.89 for 10 days, versus $11.02 for LibrePass's 5 GB ($0.78/GB vs $2.20/GB). LibrePass is valid longer (30 vs 10 days), so it is not a clean win. Cheapest is not always best: check the data allowance and validity match your trip.

Side-by-side comparison of LibrePass · 5 GB vs shibaSIM · 5 GB: price, data allowance, validity, per-GB price, provider, coverage and verification.
Plan
Price
total
total
Data type
Speed / fair-use policyFixed data allowanceFixed data allowance
Data
Validity30 days10 days
DestinationAustraliaAustralia
ProviderLibrePassshibaSIM
CoverageOptus, TelstraCarrier not stated by the provider
Last checkedNov 2, 2026 · 1 sourceNov 2, 2026 · 1 source
Buy

We earn a commission if you buy through LibrePass and shibaSIM links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.

shibaSIM is cheaper for Thailand. shibaSIM's 5 GB plan costs $3.39 for 15 days, versus $7.68 for LibrePass's 5 GB ($0.68/GB vs $1.54/GB). LibrePass is valid longer (30 vs 15 days), so it is not a clean win. Cheapest is not always best: check the data allowance and validity match your trip.

Side-by-side comparison of LibrePass · 5 GB vs shibaSIM · 5 GB: price, data allowance, validity, per-GB price, provider, coverage and verification.
Plan
Price
total
total
Data type
Speed / fair-use policyFixed data allowanceFixed data allowance
Data
Validity30 days15 days
DestinationThailandThailand
ProviderLibrePassshibaSIM
CoverageAIS, DTAC, TrueMove HCarrier not stated by the provider
Last checkedNov 2, 2026 · 1 sourceNov 2, 2026 · 1 source
Buy

We earn a commission if you buy through LibrePass and shibaSIM links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.

More brand comparisons

Frequently asked

Is LibrePass or shibaSIM better for travel?
Neither is simply better. shibaSIM offers unlimited data from $2.59; LibrePass offers fixed data allowances from $4.34. We have recorded speed policies for 50 of 50 unlimited plans. Of those, 50 state a daily high-speed allowance of 0.5 to 3 GB/day. Check the exact plan for speed reductions and hotspot terms. Match the allowance, speed policy and validity to your trip.
How much does LibrePass cost compared to shibaSIM?
LibrePass plans start from $4.34 (best value $0.69/GB), and shibaSIM plans start from $1.59 (best value $0.29/GB). Exact prices depend on the destination, the data amount and the validity. Each price is cited to its source and dated.
Which covers more destinations, LibrePass or shibaSIM?
We track LibrePass across 184 destinations and shibaSIM across 19. LibrePass covers more of the destinations in our catalogue, though both cover the major travel destinations.
Which has unlimited data, LibrePass or shibaSIM?
shibaSIM offers unlimited-data plans (50 of the plans we track); every LibrePass plan we track is metered (a fixed data allowance). Pick shibaSIM for unpredictable or heavy use, LibrePass for lower prices on light use.

Each price is cited to its source and dated. How we verify