LibrePass vs LightSim
LibrePass and LightSim travel eSIMs compared on price, value per GB, unlimited data, destination coverage and verified prices, built from 2,183 plans we track. Each figure is cited to its source and dated.
Price observation dates for these two providers: Nov 2, 2026. Check each plan's date and source before buying.How we verify
LightSim offers unlimited-data plans (319 of the 1252 we track) from $11.45, while every LibrePass plan we track is metered, from $4.34. We have recorded speed policies for 319 of 319 unlimited plans. Of those, 319 state a daily high-speed allowance of 2 to 3 GB/day. Check the exact plan for speed reductions and hotspot terms. Compare the plans for your destination and trip length; unlimited does not guarantee unrestricted streaming or tethering. LightSim covers more of the destinations we track (193 vs 184).
From $2.90 · 1,252 plans in 193 destinations
10% off a first LightSim purchase with code ESIMCOMPARE10. How to use it
We earn a commission if you buy through LibrePass links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
| Metric | ||
|---|---|---|
| Starts from | $4.34 | $2.90 |
| Best value per GB | $0.69/GB | $0.67/GB |
| Unlimited-data plans | Metered only | 319 plans (25%) |
| Destinations tracked | 184 | 193 |
| Prices verified | 100% of 931 | 100% of 1,252 |
| Cheapest trip-ready plan | $6.57 | $6.90 |
Every figure is aggregated from the plans we track for each brand and links to the record that proves it. How we verify prices.
LibrePass vs LightSim for popular destinations
The best-value LibrePass and LightSim plan for each destination both cover, lined up on price, data, validity and per-GB price.
LightSim is cheaper for United States. LightSim's 5 GB plan costs $10.50 for 30 days, versus $13.25 for LibrePass's 5 GB ($2.10/GB vs $2.65/GB). Cheapest is not always best: check the data allowance and validity match your trip.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 30 days | 30 days |
| Destination | United States | United States |
| Provider | LibrePass | LightSim |
| Coverage | AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon | Carrier not stated by the provider |
| Last checked | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through LibrePass and LightSim links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
Closely matched on price. LibrePass (5 GB, 30 days) and LightSim (5 GB, 30 days) are priced within a dollar for Japan, at $11.02 and $10.50 ($2.10/GB vs $2.20/GB). Both list the same local network (KDDI/au, NTT docomo, Rakuten Mobile, SoftBank); this alone does not establish identical coverage or speeds. Pick on data allowance, validity and which provider you prefer.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 30 days | 30 days |
| Destination | Japan | Japan |
| Provider | LibrePass | LightSim |
| Coverage | KDDI/au, NTT docomo, Rakuten Mobile, SoftBank | KDDI/au, NTT docomo, Rakuten Mobile, SoftBank |
| Last checked | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through LibrePass and LightSim links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
Closely matched on price. LibrePass (5 GB, 30 days) and LightSim (5 GB, 30 days) are priced within a dollar for Australia, at $11.02 and $10.50 ($2.10/GB vs $2.20/GB). They use different local networks (Optus, Telstra vs Optus), which can change coverage in parts of Australia. Pick on data allowance, validity and which provider you prefer.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 30 days | 30 days |
| Destination | Australia | Australia |
| Provider | LibrePass | LightSim |
| Coverage | Optus, Telstra | Optus |
| Last checked | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through LibrePass and LightSim links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
Closely matched on price. LibrePass (5 GB, 30 days) and LightSim (5 GB, 30 days) are priced within a dollar for Thailand, at $7.68 and $7.50 ($1.50/GB vs $1.54/GB). Pick on data allowance, validity and which provider you prefer.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Price | total | total |
| Data type | ||
| Speed / fair-use policy | Fixed data allowance | Fixed data allowance |
| Data | ||
| Validity | 30 days | 30 days |
| Destination | Thailand | Thailand |
| Provider | LibrePass | LightSim |
| Coverage | AIS, DTAC, TrueMove H | Carrier not stated by the provider |
| Last checked | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source | Nov 2, 2026 · 1 source |
| Buy |
We earn a commission if you buy through LibrePass and LightSim links here, at no extra cost to you. In our recommended order those providers get a disclosed partner boost; it never changes a price, and lists sorted by price alone stay in price order.
More brand comparisons
Frequently asked
- Is LibrePass or LightSim better for travel?
- Neither is simply better. LightSim offers unlimited data from $11.45; LibrePass offers fixed data allowances from $4.34. We have recorded speed policies for 319 of 319 unlimited plans. Of those, 319 state a daily high-speed allowance of 2 to 3 GB/day. Check the exact plan for speed reductions and hotspot terms. Match the allowance, speed policy and validity to your trip.
- How much does LibrePass cost compared to LightSim?
- LibrePass plans start from $4.34 (best value $0.69/GB), and LightSim plans start from $2.90 (best value $0.67/GB). Exact prices depend on the destination, the data amount and the validity. Each price is cited to its source and dated.
- Which covers more destinations, LibrePass or LightSim?
- We track LibrePass across 184 destinations and LightSim across 193. LightSim covers more of the destinations in our catalogue, though both cover the major travel destinations.
- Which has unlimited data, LibrePass or LightSim?
- LightSim offers unlimited-data plans (319 of the plans we track); every LibrePass plan we track is metered (a fixed data allowance). Pick LightSim for unpredictable or heavy use, LibrePass for lower prices on light use.
Each price is cited to its source and dated. How we verify