Best eSIM for Japan (2026): Ranked by Value
2026-09-03 · 23 min read · Yuma Heymans
Prices right now
179 eSIM plans for Japan from 15 providers
- Cheapest for a 10-day trip (5 GB or more)Ezigo 5 GB, 30 days $5.09
- Cheapest unlimited for the same tripSeyyah Mobile unlimited, 10 days $21.49
- Cheapest plan of any sizeRovero 1 GB, 7 days $1.40
By price alone, newest price checked Oct 26, 2026. This guide was written on Sep 3, 2026; where its text quotes other prices, these are the current ones. Compare every plan for Japan.
The best-value Japan eSIM is Nomad eSIM's 20 GB plan at $1.15 per gigabyte, and the cheapest way to get truly unlimited data is Nomad eSIM's 7-day unlimited plan at $25, with Holafly the pick for very short trips. Here is why, with every price traced to a source.
Japan is the single most searched-for eSIM destination on the market, and for good reason: a record 42.7 million foreign visitors arrived in 2025, up more than 15% on the prior peak - The Japan Times. Almost all of them need mobile data the moment they land, and almost none of them want to pay their home carrier's roaming rates to get it. If you want the short version: for a normal one-to-two-week trip, buy a metered plan sized to your real usage, and the best price-per-gigabyte on the market right now belongs to Nomad eSIM's 20 GB plan at $23, which works out to $1.15 per GB as of the site's latest price check (August 2026) - eSIMCompare Japan page. If you would rather not think about a data counter at all, the cheapest genuinely unlimited option for a week is Nomad eSIM's 7-day unlimited at $25, and for a stopover of a few days Holafly's 3-day unlimited at $11.90 is hard to beat.
That is the answer. The rest of this guide explains how eSIMCompare arrived at it, what you are actually connecting to inside Japan, whether a tourist is even allowed to use a foreign eSIM here (you are), how much data a real Japan trip consumes, and how the four providers we compare here - Airalo, Holafly, Nomad eSIM and Saily - stack up plan by plan. Every price below comes from our own dated price checks, and every non-price fact carries a source link so you can verify it yourself.
Contents
- The quick answer: best value and best unlimited
- How eSIMCompare ranks Japan plans
- Japan's mobile networks: who you actually connect to
- Can tourists legally use an eSIM in Japan?
- How much data do you really need in Japan?
- The metered plans, ranked
- The unlimited plans, ranked
- eSIM vs pocket WiFi vs roaming vs airport SIM
- Which plan fits which traveler
- Setup: getting online the second you land
- FAQ
1. The quick answer: best value and best unlimited
Most Japan connectivity guides bury the recommendation under a wall of options, so here it is up front and specific. If your priority is cost per gigabyte, the winner is clear. Across the three metered providers we track at the 20 GB tier, Nomad eSIM charges $23 ($1.15 per GB), Saily charges $24.99 ($1.25 per GB), and Airalo charges $25 ($1.25 per GB), all valid for 30 days, as of the site's latest price check (August 2026) - eSIMCompare Japan page. Nomad eSIM is the cheapest of the three at every gigabyte, so if you are comfortable choosing a data amount, that is the value pick. You can see the same numbers, refreshed, on our live best eSIM for Japan comparison.
If your priority is not watching a counter, you want an unlimited plan, and here the right answer depends entirely on trip length. For a short stay of a few days, Holafly's 3-day unlimited at $11.90 is the cheapest entry point into unlimited data. For a full week, the order flips: Nomad eSIM's 7-day unlimited costs $25, Airalo's is $26, and Holafly's is $27.50, all as of August 2026 - eSIMCompare Japan page. Nomad eSIM is therefore both the value metered pick and the value weekly-unlimited pick, which is why it tops our Japan ranking. The one caveat with every "unlimited" plan is the fair-usage fine print, which we cover in detail in section 7 and in our guide to whether unlimited eSIM data is really unlimited.
2. How eSIMCompare ranks Japan plans
eSIMCompare is not a reseller. We do not sell you a plan and we do not earn a margin on your purchase: the buy links in our tables go straight to the provider. What we do is check the real, live price of every travel eSIM plan for a destination, record it with a date, compute the honest price-per-gigabyte, and rank this guide's tables by value; the site's live recommended lists add a disclosed partner boost for providers that pay us a commission. The full process, including how often we re-check and how we handle promotional pricing, is documented on our methodology page.
The ranking logic itself is deliberately boring, because value in this category is mostly arithmetic. For metered plans, we divide the plan price by the included data to get a price-per-GB, then compare like-for-like at each data tier and validity window. For unlimited plans, price-per-GB is meaningless (the denominator is undefined), so we compare the flat price for a given number of days and then read the fair-usage policy carefully, because an "unlimited" plan that throttles hard after a low daily cap is not competing in the same weight class as one with a generous allowance. That is the same discipline we apply across every destination in the best eSIM hub and in our provider-versus-provider breakdowns on the compare hub.
Two things this guide will never do. It will never quote a price we have not actually seen, and it will never present a rounded or estimated figure as fact. Every dollar amount below is a real August 2026 observation, and because prices in this market move with promotions and currency, we always point you back to the live Japan page for the current number before you buy. If a plan is not in our dataset, it is not in this article.
3. Japan's mobile networks: who you actually connect to
An eSIM is just software; the radio signal still comes from a physical network, and in Japan there are effectively three that matter plus one challenger. The incumbents are NTT Docomo, KDDI (au) and SoftBank, and a travel eSIM always rides on one or more of them through a wholesale agreement. Docomo has the widest reach, covering over 99% of the population and generally the most stable signal in rural and mountainous areas like the Japanese Alps, the Shikoku countryside and the Okinawa islands - Japan Wireless. An Opensignal study from April 2026 gave Docomo the top marks for overall and 5G coverage, while au led the quality categories and SoftBank won on raw download speed - SimCorner. The fourth operator, Rakuten Mobile, runs its own nationwide 4G and 5G network but is rarely the network a travel eSIM connects to - Wikipedia.
This matters because the provider you choose determines which of those networks you get, and our data records it where the provider discloses it. In our Japan dataset, Airalo and Holafly both connect through the SoftBank and KDDI networks, which are excellent in Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto and the busy travel corridors - eSIMCompare Japan page. Independent testing across those three cities in 2026 routinely measured 200 Mbps or better on SoftBank routing in central districts, which is more than enough for navigation, translation, messaging and video - eSIMsavvy. Nomad eSIM's Japan plans also run on KDDI/au and SoftBank, giving reliable coverage across the major cities and Shinkansen routes - Nomad eSIM. You can read the per-brand detail on our Airalo, Holafly, Nomad eSIM and Saily network pages.
The one practical gap to know about: none of the mainstream tourist eSIMs in our set advertises a Docomo fallback, so they lean on SoftBank and KDDI - eSIMsavvy. For 95% of visitors, who spend their time in cities and on the main tourist trail, this is a non-issue: SoftBank and KDDI are fast and dense there. If your itinerary is unusually rural (deep countryside, remote hiking, far-flung islands), Docomo's edge in the sticks is real, and you might layer a small backup plan or accept the occasional weak-signal pocket. Saily is the wild card here, because it does not publicly state which Japanese network it uses, so its rural behaviour cannot be judged in advance - Cybernews.
4. Can tourists legally use an eSIM in Japan?
Yes, unambiguously. A foreign visitor can install and use a data-only travel eSIM in Japan with no registration, no ID check and no in-store paperwork, because the plan is provisioned by the eSIM company abroad before you ever land. This is the single biggest reason eSIMs have overtaken the old routine of hunting for a SIM counter at the airport, and it is worth understanding why the alternative is more friction than it looks.
Japan draws a hard line between data-only service and anything with a voice line or phone number. To buy a voice-enabled Japanese SIM, a foreigner needs an alien registration or residence card, which a tourist on a short-stay entry simply does not have - Prepaid Data SIM Card Wiki. That is why every mainstream tourist product, whether a physical prepaid SIM or a travel eSIM, is sold as data-only with no calling - Simology. A physical data SIM at an electronics store still asks for your passport; a foreign eSIM skips even that. In practice you lose nothing, because a local number is rarely needed: apps like LINE, WhatsApp and Skype handle voice and video calls over your data connection, and LINE in particular is the messaging default across Japan - ninjawifi.
So the legality question resolves cleanly: install a data eSIM, keep your home number reachable over WiFi calling if you like, and use an app for any calls you need to make. All four providers we compare here sell exactly this kind of data-only Japan plan, and none of them requires you to register anything on arrival. If you have never set one up, our walkthrough on how to install and activate an eSIM covers the whole flow in a few minutes.
5. How much data do you really need in Japan?
This is the question that actually decides which plan is best for you, and most people wildly overestimate. Mobile data for a modern traveler is dominated by three cheap activities (maps, messaging and translation) and one expensive one (streaming video and hotspot). Getting the size right is worth more than shaving a dollar off the price, because a 20 GB plan you use 4 GB of is worse value than a perfectly-sized 5 GB plan, no matter what the price-per-GB says on paper.
Start with the cheap activities, because they cost almost nothing. Google Maps uses only about 3 to 5 MB per hour of active navigation, so even two hours of daily wayfinding is around 10 MB a day - Eskimo. A light day of maps, chat and a bit of social browsing lands between 100 and 250 MB, a moderate day between 400 and 700 MB, and a heavy day of video and hotspot at 1.5 GB or more - Breeze eSIM. Translating those into a trip: a light user on a 7-day trip needs roughly 1 to 2 GB total, a moderate user around 3 to 5 GB, and a heavy streamer easily 10 GB or more.
Here is the first-principles takeaway that reshapes the whole ranking. If you are a typical two-week tourist who uses maps, LINE, a translation app and some Instagram, you are a moderate user, and a 20 GB / 30-day plan is comfortably more than you will use, which is exactly why the value pick sits at that tier: you get the lowest price-per-GB and a buffer you will not exhaust. If you are a light user or on a short trip, a 5 GB plan is plenty and cheaper in absolute dollars. Only genuine heavy hotspot-and-video users, or people who refuse to ration on principle, should reach for unlimited. Our dedicated guide on how much eSIM data you need has a fuller calculator if you want to pin your number down before choosing a tier below.
6. The metered plans, ranked
Metered plans are where the smart money goes for Japan, because the networks are fast and the per-gigabyte prices are genuinely low. Below is every metered Japan plan in the eSIMCompare dataset, ranked within each data tier by price, with the honest price-per-GB alongside. All figures are as of the site's latest price check (August 2026); check the live Japan page for the current number before you buy.
| Provider | Data | Validity | Price (USD) | Price / GB | Network |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nomad eSIM | 20 GB | 30 days | $23.00 | $1.15 | KDDI / SoftBank |
| Saily | 20 GB | 30 days | $24.99 | $1.25 | not disclosed |
| Airalo | 20 GB | 30 days | $25.00 | $1.25 | SoftBank / KDDI |
| Nomad eSIM | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.00 | $2.00 | KDDI / SoftBank |
| Saily | 5 GB | 30 days | $10.99 | $2.20 | not disclosed |
| Airalo | 5 GB | 30 days | $11.00 | $2.20 | SoftBank / KDDI |
| Nomad eSIM | 1 GB | 7 days | $3.99 | $3.99 | KDDI / SoftBank |
| Saily | 1 GB | 7 days | $3.99 | $3.99 | not disclosed |
| Airalo | 1 GB | 3 days | $4.00 | $4.00 | SoftBank / KDDI |
Two patterns jump out. First, Nomad eSIM is the cheapest at every tier it competes in, if only by a few cents: it wins outright at 20 GB ($1.15 per GB versus $1.25 for both rivals) and edges the 5 GB and 1 GB tiers too. Second, and more importantly, bigger plans are dramatically better value per gigabyte. Nomad eSIM's price-per-GB falls from $3.99 at 1 GB to $2.00 at 5 GB to $1.15 at 20 GB, so the 20 GB plan is not just bigger, it is nearly 3.5 times more efficient per gigabyte than the 1 GB starter. This is the classic travel-data pricing curve, and it is why sizing up (within reason) is usually the right call: the marginal gigabytes are cheap.
The practical read: unless you are on a genuinely short or light trip, the 20 GB plan is the sweet spot for most visitors, and Nomad eSIM's $23 version is the value leader. If you know you are a light user, the 5 GB tier at $10 (Nomad eSIM) is the honest cheapskate pick and still covers a normal week comfortably per the usage math in section 5. The 1 GB plans exist for stopovers and emergencies only; at $3.99 to $4.00 they are the most expensive gigabytes you can buy for Japan, so do not choose them to "save money" on a real trip. Saily and Airalo are a rounding error more expensive than Nomad eSIM and are perfectly good if you prefer their apps; Saily is built by the NordVPN team with a clean interface - Cybernews, and Airalo is the largest and most battle-tested marketplace in the category - Airalo.
7. The unlimited plans, ranked
"Unlimited" is the most misunderstood word in this market, so read this section before you pay a premium for it. Every unlimited travel eSIM enforces a fair-usage policy: a daily high-speed allowance after which your connection is throttled, and often a separate, tighter cap on hotspot/tethering. Unlimited means you will not be cut off or billed for overage, not that you get unmetered gigabit forever. With that framing, here is the full unlimited Japan set from our dataset, as of the site's latest price check (August 2026) - live Japan page.
| Provider | Data | Validity | Price (USD) | Fair-usage note | Network |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Holafly | Unlimited | 3 days | $11.90 | FUP; hotspot capped at 1 GB/day | KDDI / SoftBank |
| Nomad eSIM | Unlimited | 7 days | $25.00 | Daily high-speed allowance, then reduced speed | KDDI / SoftBank |
| Airalo | Unlimited | 7 days | $26.00 | 3 GB/day, then unlimited at 1 Mbps | SoftBank / KDDI |
| Holafly | Unlimited | 7 days | $27.50 | FUP; hotspot capped at 1 GB/day | KDDI / SoftBank |
| Saily | Unlimited | 10 days | $34.99 | 5 GB/day, then throttled to ~1 Mbps | not disclosed |
| Holafly | Unlimited | 30 days | $73.90 | FUP; hotspot capped at 1 GB/day | KDDI / SoftBank |
For a full week of unlimited data, the ranking is tight and Nomad eSIM leads: Nomad eSIM at $25, Airalo at $26, Holafly at $27.50, all for 7 days. Nomad eSIM also advertises unrestricted hotspot on its unlimited plan, which is the differentiator that matters most, because the biggest reason people buy unlimited is to tether a laptop or a travel companion's phone - Nomad eSIM. That is where Holafly's fine print bites: independent 2026 reporting finds Holafly applies a hotspot fair-usage limit and throttles after an undisclosed daily threshold, with tethering the most restricted use - Holafly review, eSIM.school. Our own dataset records Holafly's hotspot cap at 1 GB/day. If you plan to hotspot, read this closely and lean toward Nomad eSIM; if you only ever use data on the handset itself, any of the three is fine.
Trip length changes the winner, though. For a short stopover of one to three days, Holafly's 3-day unlimited at $11.90 is the cheapest unlimited entry anywhere in the set and a genuinely good deal for a layover or a quick city break. For a longer stay, the 30-day Holafly plan at $73.90 is the only month-long unlimited option we track, but do the math against a metered plan first: a moderate user who buys the 20 GB Nomad eSIM plan at $23 and stays under 20 GB pays roughly a third of the unlimited monthly price. Unlimited earns its premium only for heavy streamers and heavy hotspotters. Saily's 10-day unlimited at $34.99 has the most generous published daily allowance in the group at 5 GB/day before throttling to ~1 Mbps, which is a lot of high-speed data, but its higher price and undisclosed network make it a niche pick. For the deeper Airalo-versus-Holafly comparison, see our Airalo vs Holafly head-to-head and the vs hub.
8. eSIM vs pocket WiFi vs roaming vs airport SIM
An eSIM is not the only way to get online in Japan, so it is worth being honest about when it is and is not the best tool. There are four realistic options: a travel eSIM, a rented pocket WiFi device, your home carrier's international roaming, and a physical SIM bought at the airport. For the large majority of visitors the eSIM wins, but the exceptions are real and worth naming.
Roaming is the option to avoid unless you have a specific bundled deal. Pay-per-use international data on major US carriers runs about $2.05 per MB, which is roughly $2,050 per gigabyte, and some European carriers charge even more - Tokyo Cheapo. Even the "daily pass" products, at around $12 per line per day, add up fast on a two-week trip - Tokyo Cheapo. One 2026 study put the average North American or European traveler's roaming bill at about $180 for a 7-day trip - Cellesim. Against a $10 to $25 eSIM, that is not a close call.
Pocket WiFi is the one genuine competitor, and it wins in exactly one scenario: groups sharing a single connection. A rental runs roughly $4 to $8 per day plus deposit and pickup logistics, so a week is around $38 to $70 - Saily. For a solo traveler an eSIM is far cheaper and has zero return logistics, but for a family of four on a week's trip, one pocket WiFi device can undercut four individual eSIMs - Saily. The tradeoffs are battery (the device is one more thing to charge), a single point of failure (if it dies, everyone is offline), and airport return timing on your departure day. An airport SIM counter, finally, still works and requires only your passport for a data plan, but it means queueing on arrival and swapping a physical card, which is precisely the friction an eSIM removes - ninjawifi.
The short verdict: solo and couple travelers should use an eSIM, groups of three or more should price a pocket WiFi rental against the equivalent eSIMs, and nobody should rely on raw roaming. If your phone is more than a few years old, check it supports eSIM first (section 10 and our compatible-phones guide), because that is the one thing that can force you back to pocket WiFi or a physical SIM.
9. Which plan fits which traveler
The whole decision collapses to two questions: how long is your trip, and are you a light, moderate or heavy data user. The flow below maps those answers to the specific plan in our dataset, so you can jump straight to the right pick rather than re-reading the tables. It reflects the same August 2026 prices used throughout this guide.
Read the flow as a set of defaults, not commandments. The recurring answer is Nomad eSIM, and that is not a coincidence: it holds the lowest price-per-GB at the metered tiers and the lowest weekly-unlimited price, so it is the rational default across most branches. The two places the flow points elsewhere are very short trips, where Holafly's cheap 3-day unlimited shines, and long heavy-use trips, where a month of unlimited can beat repeatedly topping up metered data. If you are a moderate two-week tourist, the flow lands you on the 20 GB Nomad eSIM plan at $23, which is exactly the headline value pick, and you can confirm the current price on the live Japan comparison.
One more nuance the diagram cannot capture: hotspot needs. If any branch above applies to you but you also intend to tether a laptop or share with a companion, prefer Nomad eSIM's unlimited, because its hotspot is unrestricted while Holafly caps tethering - Nomad eSIM. And if you are travelling as a group of three or more, revisit section 8, because a shared pocket WiFi may beat any single eSIM on total cost.
10. Setup: getting online the second you land
The best thing about an eSIM is that all the fiddly work happens at home, on your own WiFi, before you fly. Installing an eSIM means loading a carrier profile onto your phone by scanning a QR code or tapping an activation link; this consumes no data and does not start your plan - Simbye. You can do it a week before departure and simply switch the line on when you arrive. Most travel eSIMs start their validity window on first connection to a Japanese network, not at purchase, so pre-installing costs you nothing - Simbye.
Before anything else, confirm your phone can take an eSIM. Every iPhone since the iPhone XS (2018) supports it, as do Samsung Galaxy S20 and newer, Google Pixel 3 and newer, and hundreds of other Android models - US Mobile. Two catches trip people up: your phone must be carrier-unlocked, and some regional variants (notably certain Chinese and Hong Kong Samsung models) ship with eSIM disabled, so verify your exact model - US Mobile. The quick check is to dial *#06# or look in Settings for an EID number; if an EID is present, your phone supports eSIM - US Mobile. Our eSIM-compatible phones guide has the full device list.
On arrival, you have a safety net for the setup itself. Narita, Haneda and Kansai airports all offer free WiFi in the terminals, which is genuinely useful for finishing activation if anything needs tweaking - Japan Wireless. Haneda's network is "HANEDA-FREE-WIFI" and Narita's is "FreeWiFi-NARITA" in arrivals, though the signal ends when you leave the building - Japan Wireless. If you pre-installed and enabled the line, though, you should be connected on your carrier eSIM the moment your plane's doors open, before you even reach passport control. For the exact step-by-step, our guide on installing and activating an eSIM walks through both iPhone and Android, and once you are set for Japan you can apply the same routine to your next destination via the best eSIM hub, whether that is Europe, the USA or Thailand.
11. FAQ
What is the best-value eSIM for Japan in 2026? By price-per-gigabyte, it is Nomad eSIM's 20 GB / 30-day plan at $23, which is $1.15 per GB, the lowest of the metered plans eSIMCompare tracks, as of the site's latest price check in August 2026 - live Japan page. Saily and Airalo match each other at $1.25 per GB for the same 20 GB. Prices change, so confirm the current figure before buying.
What is the cheapest unlimited eSIM for Japan? For a full week, Nomad eSIM's 7-day unlimited at $25 is the cheapest, ahead of Airalo at $26 and Holafly at $27.50 (August 2026). For a stay of only a few days, Holafly's 3-day unlimited at $11.90 is the cheapest unlimited entry point overall - live Japan page.
Is "unlimited" data in Japan actually unlimited? Not in the literal sense. Every unlimited plan applies a fair-usage policy with a daily high-speed allowance and then throttling. Airalo gives 3 GB/day then 1 Mbps, Saily gives 5 GB/day then ~1 Mbps, and Holafly caps hotspot use in particular - eSIM.school. We cover this fully in is unlimited eSIM really unlimited.
Can a tourist use a foreign eSIM in Japan without registration? Yes. Data-only travel eSIMs need no ID or registration because they are provisioned abroad before you arrive; only voice-enabled Japanese SIMs require a residence card, which tourists do not have - Simology. Use LINE or WhatsApp for any calls - ninjawifi.
Which Japanese network will my eSIM use? In our dataset, Airalo, Holafly and Nomad eSIM connect through SoftBank and KDDI, which are fast and dense in cities and along tourist routes - live Japan page. Docomo has the best rural coverage but is not the default for these tourist eSIMs; Saily does not disclose its network - Cybernews.
How much data do I need for a one-week Japan trip? A light user (maps, chat, a little social) needs about 1 to 2 GB, a moderate user 3 to 5 GB, and a heavy streamer 10 GB or more - Breeze eSIM. For most two-week tourists the 20 GB plan is the comfortable, best-value choice.
Is an eSIM better than pocket WiFi for Japan? For solo and couple travelers, yes, on both cost and convenience. For groups of three or more, a shared pocket WiFi rental ($4 to $8/day) can be cheaper than several eSIMs - Saily. Roaming, at roughly $2 per MB pay-per-use, is the option to avoid - Tokyo Cheapo.
When should I activate my Japan eSIM? Install the profile at home days before you fly (it uses no data), then let it connect on arrival. Most plans start their validity on first connection to a Japanese network, so pre-installing is free - Simbye.
Prices in this guide were verified by eSIMCompare on 2026-08-24 and are stated as of the site's latest price check (August 2026). eSIM pricing changes frequently, so confirm the current amount on the live Japan comparison before purchasing.